de Mour, Bordeaux

In 1938 the de Schepper family founded a company producing spirits and liqueurs in the Belgian town of Ghent. Ten years later thes started their wine trade in Belgium. When 1950 the Saint-Emilion Château Tour Baladoz was for sale, the history of the winegrower family de Schepper began. At first, the barrels were brought to Belgium and bottled and sold there. Over the years, the familiy expanded their posessio with Châteaux Haut-Breton-Larigaudiere in Margaux (1964), Château Tayet , Bordeaux Superieur (1994), Château la Croizille , Saint Emilion (1996) and Château Lacombe Cadiot , Bordeaux Superieur (2003) , Oliver de Schepper (pictured right) has been managing the family business since 2000.

In 1993, Jean-Michel Garcion (pictured left) became responsible director of all de Mour estates. He cultivates a completely classical wine style and does not shy away from the elaborate vineyard work to achieve the best possible result from every vintage. Therefore all wines of the de Mour estates are always a bank even in difficult years. In these years there is less quantity, but the quality alwasy comes close to the great vintages. As an important staple, Mr. Garcion also tries to keep the alcohol content as low as possible in his wines. The aim is to harvest physiologically ripe grapes with a potential alcohol content between 12.5 and 13.5%. This is only possible in a few regions of the world and has made the wines of Bordeaux famous. In the Médoc wineries, Jean-Michel Garcion relies on Cabernet Sauvignon. The Haut-Breton-Larigaudière usually consists of at least 90% from this grape, which is a great exception in Bordeaux. The premium cuvée "le Createur" is usually even a 100% Cabernet, which gave Jean-Michel Garcion the nickname Mr. Cabernet .

Château la Croizille in Saint Emilion is a true jewel. In the best position, it is a direct neighbor of the Château Troplong-Mondot, la Mondotte and Tertre-Rotheboeuf. La Croizille also has the only terrace vineyard in Bordeaux. The newly created futuristic building is a real eye-catcher in the architecturally rather conservative Bordeaux region and is also open to visitors.

The de Mour wines usually require a certain storage time due to their classical style, in order to show their full potential. That is why we alwasy try to have some matured vintages in our assortment.

* Incl. tax Excl. Shipping costs
By using our website, you agree to the usage of cookies to help us make this website better. Hide this message More on cookies »

de Mour, Bordeaux

Im Jahre 1938 gründete die Familie de Schepper eine Firma zur Herstellung von Spirituosen und Likören im belgischen Gent. 10 Jahre später startete man mit dem Weinhandel in Belgien. Als im Jahr 1950 das Saint-Emilion Château Tour Baladoz zum Verkauf stand, begann die Geschichte der Winzerfamilie de Schepper. Anfangs brachte man die Fässer noch nach Belgien und sie dort abzufüllen und den Wein zu vermarkten. Über die Jahre kamen noch die Châteaux Haut-Breton-Larigaudiere in Margaux (1964), Château Tayet, Bordeaux Superieur (1994), Château la Croizille, Saint Emilion (1996) und Château Lacombe Cadiot, Bordeaux Superieur (2003) zum Besitz der Familie. Seit 2000 führt Oliver de Schepper (im Bild rechts) das Familienunternehmen.

1993 wurde Jean-Michel Garcion (im Bild links) verantwortlicher Dirketor aller de Mour Güter. Er pflegt einen ganz klassischen Weinstil und scheut keine aufwändige Weinbergsarbeit um aus jedem Jahrgang das bestmögliche Ergebnis zu erzielen. Daher sind alle Weine der de Mour Güter auch in schwierigen Jahren immer eine Bank. Es gibt dann weniger Menge davon, aber die Qualität reicht an die großer Jahrgänge heran. Als wichtiges Stilelement versucht Mr. Garcion auch den in Bordeaux inzwischen häufig ausufernden Alkoholgehalt seiner Weine möglichst gering zu halten. Ziel ist es, physiologisch voll ausgereifte Trauben bei einem potenziellen Alkoholgehalt zwischen 12,5 und 13,5% zu ernten. Das geht nur in wenigen Gegenden dieser Welt und hat die Weine von Bordeaux einst berühmt gemacht. Bei den Médoc Gütern setzt Jean-Michel Garcion voll auf Cabernet Sauvignon. Der Haut-Breton-Larigaudière besteht meist zu mindestens 90% aus dieser Rebe, was eine große Ausnahme in Bordeaux ist. Die Premium-Cuvée „le Createur“ ist in der Regel sogar ein 100%iger Cabernet, was Jean-Michel Garcion den Spitznamen Mr. Cabernet beschert hat.

Château la Croizille in Saint Emilion ist ein wahres Schmuckstück. In allerbester Lage ist er direkter Nachbar der Château Troplong-Mondot, la Mondotte und Tertre-Rotheboeuf. Zudem besitzt la Croizille die einzige Terrassenlage in ganz Bordeaux. Das neu erstellte futuristische Gebäude ist ein echter Hingucker im architektonisch eher konservativen Bordeaux und steht auch Besuchern offen.

Die de Mour Weine brauchen aufgrund ihrer klassischen Machart meist eine gewisse Lagerzeit, um ihre volle Schönheit zu zeigen. Daher bemühen wir uns, auch immer einige gereifte Jahrgänge im Sortiment zu haben.

* Inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie dem Gebrauch von Cookies zur Verbesserung dieser Seite zu. Diese Nachricht Ausblenden Für weitere Informationen sehen Sie bitte unsere Datenschutz-Erklärung. »